Monday, November 2, 2015

Twelve Nidanas

Watch the following Thay's video from 1:05:55 to 1:54:35.

Twelve Nidanas (The Twelve Links of Interdependent Co-Arising):

1. Avidya 無明 (ignorance, delusion, wrong perceptions)  (karma)
                 思 (volition???)                                                        (cause)
2. Sanskara 行 (impulses, actions, dispositions)         past life ↑
3. Vijñana 識 (consciousness) (imprinted karma)        this life   ↓
4. Namarupa 名色 (body and mind, name and form)             (effect)
5. Sadayatana 六入 (six sense organs and object)                 (ego)
6. Sparsa 触 (contact)
                  作意 (attention???)
7. Vedana 受 (feelings)                                                                              
8. Trsna 愛 (craving, attachment)                                           (cause)
9. Upadana 取 (grasping)                                                         (karma)
10. Bhava 有 (existence, being)                                                    
11. Jati 生 (birth)                                                               next life  
12. Jara-marana 老死 (old age and death)                              (effect)

* The teaching of 12 Nidanas is not a teaching that can conduce to the ultimate truth. It can be used only in the level of the conventional truth. It has to explain the mechanism of rebirth. It is deluded Buddhism. It's not the Buddhism at its best. 

* Sanskara 行: formations (everything, phenomena) = impermanent

* 12 Nidanas is based on the delusion of ego (separate self). If it is based on the wisdom of enlightened person (awareness, non-separate self), it will be as follows: 
(5 Nidanas)
1. delusion               wisdom
2. formations            formations 
   (permanent, self) (impermanent, no-self, co-arising)
   (delusion)             (true nature of reality)
3. birth and death    no birth and no death
4. notion of being    free from notion of being and non-being
    and non-being
5. samsara                nirvana

⇒ My understanding of the mechanism of the continuation of everything is as follows:
1. Atoms may have minds.
Freeman John Dyson said, "Atoms in the laboratory are weird stuff, behaving like active agents rather than inert substances. They make unpredictable choices between alternative possibilities according to the laws of quantum mechanics. It appears that mind, as manifested by the capacity to make choices, is to some extent inherent in every atom."

2. Body may enfold into consciousness. And consciousness may unfold into body.
David Joseph Bohm said, "The implicate order would help us to see that, to see everything enfolds, everybody, not merely depends on everybody, but actually everybody is everybody in a deeper sense. See, we are the earth because all our substance comes from the earth and goes back. The explicate, or the unfolded order enfolds into the implicate order. The implicate, or the enfolded order unfolds into the explicate order, or everything separate."

3. Body and mind (consciousness) will continue according to the law of conservation of energy and mass.
Albert Einstein proved "E = mc 2" scientifically.

⇒ My understanding of interdependent co-arising is as follows:
* We can understand that the pairs of opposites are two sides of the same coin through the notion of interdependent co-arising. In this stage, notions still remain. So, this stage is still the historical dimension.
* For the extinction of all notions, we need to understand the true nature of reality (no birth and no death nature of all phenomena) in addition to interdependent co-arising.
* Emptiness, or interdependent co-arising is the ultimate truth. So, there are two kinds of the ultimate truth. One is the ultimate truth in the phenomenal world, or the historical dimension. The other is the ultimate truth in the noumenal world, or the ultimate dimension. The following is the whole picture.


Thich Nhat Hanh & Martin Luther King Jr.